Mike’s Christmas Quilt

image

In my first quilting life I made 2 quilts inspired by an Amish design I saw in Quilter’s Newsletter Magazine. I gave the larger blue one to our son when he moved out and it stayed with him for 10 years, getting well and truly used! (Which I think is a good thing) So I decided it was time for a new one and Christmas 2014 would be a perfect time. I looked for manly designs and found this one on Pinterest- it was for sale as a kit, and it inspired me. image

I decided to use all blacks, whites, and grays. I pulled fabric from the Grandmother stash, some from a stash that some ladies at church had contributed, and from Mama G. Then I saw the Texas fabric, which was bordered and highlighted in black, and realized that the pops of color would be perfect!

I cut 1 1/2″, 2″, and 3″ x WOF strips from all these fabrics and strip pieced them in 15″ blocks. Then I cut them 6 1/2″ wide, and sewed them together till they were (I think) about 80″. (He’s 6’3″.)

I had to buy the black for sashing- that was kind of funny; I went to Hall to Wall with some strips and told Jim what I needed. He brought out his first choice and I liked it, but of course had to try out all the others. After pulling no telling how many bolts, I went with the first one he’d shown me!

I quilted in the ditch all the way down along both sides of the sashing and about every 6 inches of strips. It was quilted but not bound when he came home for our family Christmas, so he had to wait till the next visit to get it!

image image  image

Leave a Reply

