Fourth of July Table Runner/ Mantel Cloth

image

One of the quilt shops we visited while on our Arkansas vacation in July 2013 was Sager Creek Quilts in Siloam Springs. It was just beautiful! I got these reds, whites, and blues, thinking I would finish this runner to replace the fall-ish cloth that had been on my mantel forever. It was something like July 2 lol but I don’t really have a good “inner calendar” and hadn’t realized that might not happen. My son and I had a good laugh and said I’d better get started cutting it out with fingernail scissors in the car!

Anyway– I found this star pattern on Pinterest and I made it with all half square triangles. I used a flannel sheet for batting and a cotton tablecloth for the back, both of which I’d gotten at an estate sale. Quilting is in the ditch. It stayed up on my mantel for well over a year… But patriotic is always in style!

Leave a Reply

