Randy’s Arkansas Trip Quilt– “Coming Home”

Shortly after I became obsessed with   really interested in quilting, we vacationed in Arkansas in the summer of 2013 and visited a couple of quilt stores. On the way home, Mr. X said he’d like me to make one for him, so I began asking questions to figure out what kind. We narrowed it down to a traditional Nine-patch design with sashing and a double border; not full-sized, but one for the couch; and very manly. I googled “quilt shops” in towns we’d pass through and found The Whistling Chicken in Carthage, Tx. We spent some time perusing fabrics and he chose these great fabrics- some Civil War reproduction, some that just coordinated nicely. He loves telling people that it’s HIS quilt and HE chose the fabrics! I started this one soon after we got home and it came together very quickly. This was my first one to quilt with top stitching 1/4″ from the seams, instead of in the ditch.

I entered it into our fair in April. I enjoyed seeing it hang and hearing people say they saw my work!

‘ imageimage

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fourth of July Table Runner/ Mantel Cloth | Auntie Em Quilts

Leave a Reply

